Account Contact corresponds to login credentials for accessing HostPilotĀ® Control Panel. Contacts are assigned one or more roles, which determine what sections of HostPilot they have access to, as well as the technical support options available to that contact.

A shared account contact is a contact that manages several accounts. If you already have another Intermedia account, you may want to use the same login for managing both of them. To do this, log into HostPilot > Account > Account Contacts > Create Account Contact > Add contact used on another account.

You will be prompted to type in the login that already exists on your account. Then, click on Check login button to verify that the correct account contact will be added. If the system fails to identify your login as an existing one, the following error will come up:

If there are no errors, the actual account contact name will show up. Make sure that the name you see there is the one you are trying to add.

After that, you can assign roles to this account contact. Refer to our Knowledge Base article Account Contacts and Contact Roles for more details.

Note: No password is required to add a contact already registered on another account. You can use Forgot Password option on the login page for password reset.

After the shared account contact is added to the new account, they will receive an email with an invitation to the address associated with their account contact:

Link in the email will take the user to the following page:

Here the invited user can Accept the invitation:

Or Decline:

Until the invitation is accepted, the account contact will be shown as Pending in HostPilot:

The link will be available for 120 hours. If the user did not Accept or Decline it during this time the link in the message will take to the following page and Pending Account contact will be removed from the contacts list:

In this case, the administrator of the account should add the shared account contact one more time to generate a new invitation.

Once the shared account contact is successfully added, it will be shown in the Account contacts list the following way:

Note: The account contact can access several accounts. Therefore, changing of general information is available only for the contacts themselves. The option is available via any account where it is shared.

In addition, account administrators cannot view Security information (Alternative email, Cell phone) and Security questions for shared account contacts. They cannot lock shared contacts either.