This article applies to Web Hosting and Custom Email accounts only.
With POP connection mails are downloaded locally and there's no need to delete them from the server. However, you need to see your mail client's help manual for information on how to delete messages using IMAP. Regardless of the method or mail client used, once a deleted item is purged, it is gone for good. Therefore, if you plan to keep a copy of it, make sure you have a copy on your local hard drive before purging.
The HostPilot refreshes the breakdown of mailboxes once new message arrives in mailbox. Many times, you may find that your mailboxes still as having messages in them or using large amounts of disk space even though your Inbox is showing no messages. These items are usually stored in the Deleted Items or Sent Items folders on the server. To check for this you'll want to log into webmail.