If an organization has two or more entries in the Global Address List with similar names, and an Entourage user simply enters the name in the "To" field of a new email, Entourage does not prompt the sender to select the appropriate recipient. Entourage simply sends the message to one of the contacts with that name. This can result in emails intended for one user to be sent to another unintentionally.

For example:
An organization has two users in their Global Address List with the names "John Smith" and "John Williams". The Entourage user enters the name "John" in the "To" field of a new email. Entourage will not prompt the user to select one of the two Johns, but will just send the message to one of them.

You may force name resolution manually if you enter a full name or email address or click the Check Names button prior to sending, but we strongly recommend configuring Entourage to do this automatically.

To configure Entourage to check names automatically: 

Entourage 2004 SP2:

  1. On the Preferences tab, click on the Compose section.
  2. Ensure that 'Automatically check names when sending messages' is enabled.
    Note: This option is unchecked by default.

Entourage 2008:

  1. In the Entourage menu, select Preferences, then select Compose.
  2. Ensure that 'Automatically check names when sending messages' is enabled.
    Note: This option is unchecked by default.