For all activated BlackBerry® devices, you can perform a remote wipe, which forces the device to return to factory default settings. The remote wipe:

  • permanently deletes its stored IT policies
  • permanently deletes all third-party applications
  • permanently deletes all user data

Note: In order to successfully wipe the device, it must be connected to the wireless network and be activated for the service. If you re-activate a user's account, the server link with the device will be lost and you will not be able to perform any actions on the device remotely.

To make sure that the desired device will be wiped, log in to HostPilot and navigate to Services > Mailboxes. Click the user's display name and verify that the device status is Running and that the correct PIN (unique device identifier) is displayed under Optional Services > BlackBerry®.

To wipe the device through HostPilot:
Option 1:

  1. Log in to HostPilot and navigate to Services > Mailboxes.
  2. Click the Action button next to the user which you need to wipe the device for.
  3. Click Remote Wipe Blackberry.
  4. When you see a confirmation window as in the following screenshot, click Wipe to confirm that you would like to erase all data from the device.

Option 2:

  1. Log in to HostPilot and navigate to Services > Mailboxes.
  2. Click on the user's display name.
  3. Click the Exchange tab.
  4. Under Optional Services, click BlackBerry®.
  5. Click the Remote Wipe button at the bottom of the device status page.

To wipe the device through My Services:

  1. Log in to My Services.
  2. Navigate to BlackBerry®.