By default HPBX account plan terms, the quantity of phone numbers on your account included in the plan is equal to the number of users + 1 number for Auto Attendant. Everything above that number will be charged extra. If you disable Hosted PBX for a user, you must also delete a phone number, even if the user did not have an assigned phone number. (However, if you have created fewer phone numbers than users, you do not have to delete a phone number.)

You can choose which number to delete. You may want to delete the number that was assigned to the user, or a number that is not assigned to anyone. If necessary, you can reassign the number that the user had, and delete a different one.

This is important because once a number is deleted, you will not be able to get the same number for your account again.
 
If you remove a user (disable Hosted PBX service for a user):

  • The user's phone number is unassigned and becomes available (if a number was assigned, and if you did not delete it).
  • The user is removed from any hunt groups.
  • The user is removed from any Auto Attendants that included this user for forwarding calls.

Note: if the user you are going to disable Hosted PBX service for has Click-to-Call enabled, to disable HPBX, Click-to-Call needs to be removed first.

If you delete a phone number that is assigned to an active user, that person will not be able to use the PBX service unless you assign a new number.