In SecuriSync, you may encounter conflicted file / folder copies.
Unlocked file can be edited by several users at the same time. The user who first starts editing is called Master editor. They can save changes changes to the original file. Updates made by other co-editors will be saved as separate conflicted files in the same folder in SecuriSync. The same will happen if user made some changes in a shared file on the desktop, while the desktop client was offline.
Such files can be merged with the original file only manually.
Note: in MS Word, you can use Merge Documents or Compare Documents features to merge or find the changes.
Conflicted files have the following naming convention:
Filename (Conflicted copy YYYY-MM-DD for Username)
Our Shared File (Conflicted copy 2015-10-01 for jsmith)
To avoid conflicts, use the Lock functionality. While the file is locked by one user, others will be able to access the file only with View permissions.
Sometimes you may find folders with a numbering postfix in the folder name, e.g. 'New Folder (2)'.
To resolve the issue let the user delete the folder from the web client or delete it in the Admin File Management.
||How to resolve
If the user accepted sharing invitation having another folder with the same name in the My SecuriSync directory.
|Such folder may not be displayed on the desktop or mobile client, if it is stored on the cloud in a trashed state. The user can check such folders on the web client.
- Log in to the web client
- If you do not see the folder with the same name as your folder, click on the Deleted Items filter. The trashed folder will be displayed.
- Make sure you saved the content you may need in future on a local drive.
- Permanently delete the folder.
Note: By default users cannot permanently delete files and folders. Administrator should allow them to do so in HostPilot > SecuriSync > Settings > Retention Policy, uncheck "users cannot permanently delete files and folders".
Note: Permanently deleted content cannot be restored from the SecuriSync server.
- Rename the shared older via Desktop or Web Client removing (2).
Note: This will rename the deleted folder appending (3) if you do not permanently delete it on step 4
|Sometimes folder appears again with the (2) in the name after user tried to delete it.
||This happens if the user tries to delete a folder which has files that did not finish uploading to the SecuriSync cloud.
||Delete the folder once the upload is finished if you do not need the content or rename the folder if you do.