This article gives an overview on the Backup policy that can be adjusted by Admin.

To access Backup policy settings navigate to HostPilotĀ® Control Panel > Services > SecuriSync> Backup Policies.

Account-level Backup policy

This policy can be pushed down to all desktop devices. Admin can select which folder should be synced on end-users machines.

By default the following folders are selected:

  • My SecuriSync - yes
  • Desktop - no
  • Documents - no

Folders

If the policy is changed, all changes would be applied to all devices (both on Windows and MAC clients).

Note: External users will continue to have My SecuriSync as the only folder.

When the policy is adjusted, the end-users will receive a pop-up with notification. User can override settings for Documents/Desktop folders.

To manage Notifications for Backup policies read Knowledge Base article on Backup Status Monitoring (for Admins)

File type exceptions for Sync/Backup

Admin can select which folder should be synced on end-users machines.

By default Exclude certain types is selected:
File exceptions

The list of the excluded file types is available in the article on SecuriSync Backup Policy: Default File type exclusions

Folder Path Exclusions

Admin can exclude file types that are not suitable for real-time backup. It is recommended to exclude large and frequently changed files:

Known issues

  1. If a file has no version on the server, a user can click Save to SecuriSync button. If a user clicks on this button, a file will be saved locally.
  2. If a file has a version on the server, it will save user's file locally. User will be able to preview previous versions from the server without any errors.
  3. If Admin sets policy for .notes, .numbers, .app and other MAC extensions, which are recognized as a folder, the policy would not be applied.
  4. Files with restricted extensions, which have been uploaded to SecuriSync server before the exception has been set up, will remain on the server and will be downloaded to a new desktop client. However, new versions of these files won't be synced with the server any longer. If a user deletes a folder that contains file excluded extension via a desktop application, the folder won't be deleted from the cloud. It needs to be deleted it from web access