This article describes how to enable Send On Behalf permissions via Delegate Access using Outlook 2007, Outlook 2010/2013/2016.

When you enable Send On Behalf permissions for another user, it means that person can send mail on your behalf. Your delegate will be able to choose your email address in the From field when composing a message in Outlook. However, message recipients will see both your address and your delegate's address (as the actual author of the message). This means that when your delegate sends a message using your address, the From address will show "From: Mailbox <delegate's address> on behalf of Mailbox <your address>".

Note: There is another type of sending permissions called Send As permissions, which can only be enabled in HostPilot. Read the Knowledge Base article on How Do I Enable Send As or Full Access Permissions On An Exchnage Account? for more information.

To grant Send On Behalf permissions, you need to add the user as a delegate for your mailbox in Outlook, and assign the delegate any level of access.

Important: When Send On Behalf permissions are granted Send as option is automatically checked under HostPilotĀ® Control Panel > Services > Mailboxes > click mailbox > Full access & Send as. But Send As permissions are not granted at the time. Click the Save Changes button to re-write Send On Behalf permissions to Send As permissions.

Outlook 2010/2013/2016:

  1. Click File > Info > Account Settings > Delegate Access.
  2. Click Add.
  3. Choose the mailbox from the Address Book.
  4. If you need the user to have partial access to your mailbox, you can specify the access level on the next screen. If you only need to give Send On Behalf permissions to the user, choose None for each folder.
  5. Click OK.
    delegates

Outlook 2007: 

  1. Click Tools > Options > Delegates.
  2. Click Add.
  3. Choose the mailbox from the Address Book.
  4. If you need the user to have partial access to your mailbox, you can specify the access level on the next screen. If you only need to give Send On Behalf permissions to the user, choose None for each folder.
  5. Click OK.