The current version of SecuriSync supports the Restore functionality for both live and deleted folders.

Restore option is available for:

  • Admins
  • end-users with Owner/Co-Owner and Modify permissions

for all top-level folders (My SecuriSync, Desktop, Documents, etc) and their subfolders. Several files or folders can be restored at the same time.

Deleted folders

If the folder is deleted, it's not instantly purged. The folder goes to the "Deleted" state and can be restored if the retention policy did not purge the folder or file. To restore a deleted folder and its content or file:

  1. Login to SecuriSync Web App
  2. Click on Show Deleted on the top-right corner. Deleted files or folder will be displayed with gray-colored folder:
  3. Click Restore next to the name of the folder or on three dots to open the drop-down menu.
    ShowDeleted

For detailed instructions on how to restore deleted files and folders refer to the Knowledge Base article SecuriSync: Restore Deleted Files

Live folders

To restore the content in the live folder:

  1. Select the file or folder to restore
  2. Click Actions > Restore
  3. Select the date and time of the restore and click Restore:
    Restore live content

There are 2 options for content restore in the live folders:

  • Roll back - The state of the files and folders will be rolled back to the selected date and time. Files and folders deleted after the restore date and time will be restored. Files and folders created after restore date and time will be deleted.
  • Restore deleted files only - The files and folders deleted after the selected restore date and time will be restored. Pick a date and time just before the deletion event to restore the deleted content. Files and folders created and deleted after restore date and time will not be restored.

The following scenarios describe the scope of the Restore feature:

  • Restore content which was deleted after selected restore date and time
    Example: file A was deleted on 1/2/2019. 1/1/2019 was selected as the restore date. File A will be restored.
  • Restore the latest version of the file that was saved before the selected restore date and time
    Example: file A was created on 1/1/2019 (Version 1 of the file). It was modified on 1/3/2019 (Version 2 of the file). 1/2/2019 was selected as the restore date. Version 1 will be restored, and all 3 versions of the file will be available under Versions.
  • Delete files or folders created after the selected restore date and time. They can be restored from the Recycle Bin at any time by SecuriSync Admin.
    Example: file A was created 1/2/2019. 1/1/2019 was selected as the restore date. File A will be deleted

Important:

  • live shares created before or after the restore won't be affected. 
  • renamed folders will have the names reverted back if you perform Restore.
  • restore doesn't affect permissions.