This article describes how to manage SharePoint disk space via HostPilot and via Site Administration.
- Upgrade SharePoint Package
To do that, navigate to the HostPilot > Services > SharePoint page. Click the Upgrade SharePoint Package button in the SharePoint Settings section, choose a package and click the Change SharePoint Package button.
- Add disk space
You can add it to your existing SharePoint plan in 500 MB increments at the standard rate specified in your plan. Click the Storage Management button on the SharePoint page in HostPilot. You can increase or decrease your SharePoint disk space by selecting the amount of additional disk space you would like to purchase and then clicking Save. Your change will be effective immediately.
When the site exceeds the maximum storage allowed, notification is sent to the account administrator. If the account administrator does not increase disk space within three days after notification has been sent, additional space will be added to the site automatically.
A SharePoint Administrator can control disk space usage of the SharePoint site.
To find out the disk space occupied by the site:
- From the SharePoint home page, navigate to Settings > Site Settings.
- Under Site Collection Administration, click the Storage Metrics link.
Under Storage Metrics you will see the storage breakdown. Select the folder you would like to manage.
Most SharePoint storage concerns are about size calculations. You will find some information below on how disk space is occupied by the SharePoint site and how its content is calculated.
Versioning creates a new copy of the document every time the document has been checked out. To control versioning settings:
- Open the library and navigate to Library > Library Settings
- Click Versioning Settings
To learn about versioning, refer to Help for SharePoint on the Microsoft site.
Whenever the end user deletes data from the site, it goes to the End User Recycle Bin. Items in the Recycle Bin remain there until the end user decides to permanently delete or restore them, or until the items are permanently deleted after the retention period of 30 days. To view items deleted from the site, a user can click the Recycle Bin link under Site Contents. Even the site Administrator will see only his or her own deleted
If the file is deleted from the End User Recycle Bin, it is sent to the Site Collection Recycle Bin, where an administrator can restore it or delete it permanently. The Site Collection Recycle Bin can be managed only by a SharePoint Administrator.
To view the content of the Site Collection Recycle Bin:
Log inwith site administrator credentials.
- Navigate to Settings > Site Settings.
Under Site Collection Administration, click the Recycle Bin link. This opens the Site Collection Recycle Bin, which has two links in the navigation pane on the left:
End User Recycle Bin items - shows contents of all End Users Recycle Bins.
Deleted from end user Recycle Bin - shows content that was permanently deleted from End Users Recycle Bins.
To learn more about the Recycle Bin, refer to Help for SharePoint on the Microsoft site.