Q: What is SecuriSync®?

  • SecuriSync is a business-grade content collaboration platform that facilitates universal access to data through broad PC, Web and mobile platform support, sophisticated collaboration workflows, and data backup.  It provides full integration with Intermedia and 3rd party business apps – all bolstered by business-grade security and data-privacy architecture.

Q: Which platforms is SecuriSync supported on?

  • Desktop Apps Windows, Mac
  • Web Interface
  • Mobile Apps
    • for Apple devices
    • Android
    • BlackBerry
    • Windows Mobile

For information on the supported versions read Knowledge Base article On Which OS And Platforms Is SecuriSync Working? 

Q: How secure is my data on SecuriSync?

  • Each connection from desktop, web, and mobile apps is authorized and authenticated.
  • Single Sign-On saves you from having to manage multiple passwords. Use your Intermedia Email address and password to log into SecuriSync
    Your data is fully isolated from other users' data.
  • All of your data is encrypted in TRANSIT using industry-standard 256-bit SSL/HTTPS encryption.
  • Each file is encrypted using industry-standard AES 256-bit encryption AT REST on our cloud.
  • Flexible permissions allow you to control who can edit, view, delete, and modify your content.

Q: How do I share a folder with a colleague?

  1. Select a folder in the SecuriSync folder on your computer or the web interface, and choose the Share option. (i.e. right-click on a folder on Windows and Mac).
  2. Start typing the names of your collaborators in the sharing dialog, and leverage the auto-complete feature to quickly populate the list of names.
  3. Assign appropriate access permissions to each user.

Read the Knowledge Base article on SecuriSync: File And Folder Sharing for more information.

Q: Can I share sub-folders with a different set of collaborators than the parent folder?

  • Yes, SecuriSync allows you to organize your files to your liking and then share specific content with specific collaborators. If parent folder is shared with a user that already has permissions for a sub-folder:
    • New shared folder (if he/she accepts the invitation to share) appears on user's PC as a top-level folder
    • Sub-folder that was originally shared remains intact with the same permissions as it had before (e.g. SecuriSync will not consolidate these folders or propagate permissions)

Q: What is the difference between View and Modify permissions?

  • View permissions allow collaborators to download (sync) and view shared content, but they cannot edit, create, or delete content in the folders where the 'View' permission has been granted.
  • Modify permissions allow collaborators download (sync), view, edit, create and delete content in the folders where the 'Modify' permission has been granted. 

Q: How do I tell shared and private folders apart?

  • Desktop (Windows-only for now):
    • folder I own or have modify permissions on:
    • folder that I have View-only permissions on:
  • Web:
    • folder I own or have modify permissions on:
    • folder that I have View-only permissions on:

Q: How do I co-author files with collaborators?

  • You can lock a file for editing. While you are editing, no other collaborator can edit that file at the same time. You can unlock a file once your edits are in place to allow others to contribute to the file.
  • If multiple users co-author a file at the same time without 'locking' it, the first user who saves changes, saves into the original file. All other collaborators’ changes are saved into ‘conflict’ files (which are saved in the same folder as the original file) that contain the specific edits made by each user. These ‘conflict’ files can then be manually merged with the original file.

Read the Knowledge Base article on SecuriSync: Conflict Management for more information.

Q: What happens to files when I or a collaborator deletes them from SecuriSync?

  • Deleted files are moved to the SecuriSync Recycle Bin. They can be accessed via SecuriSync Web using the Show deleted files option.
  • Each deleted file and folder is displayed using 'Grayed-out' icons and can be easily distinguished.
  • Each file and folder can be restored from the Recycle Bin back to SecuriSync.
  • Deleted files will be retained indefinitely during the beta.

Q: How do I share files with partners, customers, and all other external parties?

  • Send Link option in Web and Desktop allows you to create a secure web link which can be shared with just about anyone. Recipients do not need to be SecuriSync subscribers to access the content.
  • External users can be invited to subscribe to SecuriSync. Read the Knowledge Base article on SecuriSync®: Collaborative Folder Sharing With External Users (User Guide) for more information.

Q: How long are web links active for?

  • Web-links never expire.

Q: How can SecuriSync help me share large files securely?

  • Send Link option allows you to share files of any size. Files larger than the maximum size supported by the email system (e.g. 50 MB) can be shared by simply sharing a web link that points to the large file on the SecuriSync cloud.

Q: How do I view past versions of a file?

  • Versioning is currently available via SecuriSync Web. It can be accessed from the dropdown menu next to each file or by clicking the ‘Versioning’ icon in the main file view.

Q: What is the maximum file size supported by SecuriSync?

  • Windows Desktop Client: 4 TB
  • Mac Desktop Client: 2 TB

Q: How can I tell how much time is required for synchronization of content to my computer to complete?

  • Windows: either right-click on the SecuriSync system tray icon or simply hover over it. The client will show status for both uploads and downloads.
  • Mac: double-click on the SecuriSync icon on the menu bar or hover over it. The client will show status for both uploads and downloads.