SecuriSync® allows multiple users to edit the same file. In order to avoid conflicts, collaborators are able to lock a file for exclusive editing rights to that file. When a user locks a file, only that collaborator can make changes to that file.

For advanced conflict management options in Office plugin, refer to the Knowledge Base article on SecuriSync: Co-Authoring In The Office Plugin.

CONFLICT FILES: When an unlocked file is being edited by several users at the same time, the user who first saves changes can continue to save subsequent changes to the original file. Updates made other co-editors will be saved and stored as conflict files in the same folder on SecuriSync.  The updates saved into conflict files have to be manually merged into the original file.  Conflict files have the following naming convention ‘Filename (Conflicted copy YYYY-MM-DD for Username)’.

File lock/unlock

Web Interface

Next to the file name, click Actions > Lock. On the next window, click Lock:
.
Lock the file

A lock icon next to the file name indicates the file is locked:

 File is locked

The file can be unlocked under Actions > Unlock:

 Unlock teh file

Desktop client

Right-click the file, select SecuriSync > Lock:

Unlock the file Windows

A lock icon next to the file name indicates the file is locked:

Icon Windows

To unlock the file, right-click the file name and navigate to SecuriSync > Unlock:

Unlock Windows

Request unlock

If another collaborator needs to make changes to a file and the file is still locked by you, they can submit an unlock request. Once a file is unlocked, your collaborators can start contributing to the file.

Note: owner or co-owner of the file can unlock the file without subtmitting a request. The feature can be used by collaborators with Modify permissions.

Request Unlock