Permission-based sharing is an internal type of sharing which allows an author to grant other SecuriSync® users specific permissions to a folder.

Permission Types

There are 3 types of permissions:

  • View permission allows collaborators to ONLY view content in shared folders; any changes made to content remain on the local machine and will not be synchronized with other collaborators.
  • Modify permission allows collaborators to view, modify and delete content in shared folders; all changes will be synchronized to your My SecuriSync folder.
  • Co-owner permission allows collaborators to re-share folders with access permissions, share files/folders as web links, and permanently delete files, in addition to all the features provided by the Modify permission.

Go back to top

Web Interface

  1. Click Actions > Manage Collaborators next to folder that you’d like to share.
     
  2. Select co-workers with whom you’d like to share your folder. As you start typing the collaborator’s names, SecuriSync Sharing dialog auto-completes the names for you. Alternatively, you can select the user from the Address Book.
    Co-owner
  3. Set level of permissions: View, Modify or Co-Owner.
  4. You can click Advanced settings to set Collaboration Notifications for the folder and desktop client synchronization settings for the collaborator. This step is optional.
    Advanced settings
  5. Click Share to send an invitation.
  6. Review the status of your sharing request, stop sharing, change permissions, and re-invite co-workers in case they forgot to reply or did not receive your invitation.

Once given sharing permissions on a particular folder, your co-workers receive an email notification. In order to begin sharing, your co-workers need to accept the sharing request. Email notifications contain a link that redirect recipients to the SecuriSync Web portal where they can accept sharing requests. Once an invitation is accepted all shared content is synchronized to their devices running SecuriSync.

Note: if users don’t have SecuriSync enabled, they will be prompted to first enable it and then install it.

Go back to top

Windows сlient

To share a file internally, right-click the folder that you want to share (it should be located under My SecuriSync folder) and select SecuriSync > Share:

Share via Desktop client

You will be redirected to the Web Interface to send sharing invitation.

Go back to top

Mac сlient

To share a file internally, hold the Apple (Command) key and click on the folder that you want to share (it should be located under My SecuriSync folder) and select SecuriSync > Share:

 Share via Desktop Client (Mac)

You will be redirected to the Web Interface to send sharing invitation.

Go back to top

Subfolder Sharing

When sharing a top-level folder:

  • This action also shares all the subfolders in that top-level folder.
  • All collaborators invited to a share of a top-level folder will inherit the same permissions on all subfolders.
  • Collaborators see the shared top-level folder as a top-level folder in their own SecuriSync environment.

When sharing a subfolder:

  • If any of the parent folders have already been shared, those same collaborators will automatically have access to this subfolder, but they cannot be removed. New users can be added to the share as per the user’s requirements.
  • The subfolder can be shared with permission level that differs from permissions that collaborator has for the top-level folder, i.e. View permissions for the top-level folder and Modify permissions for the specific subfolder in it and vice versa. In this case, collaborators will see the shared subfolder as a separate top-level folder in their SecuriSync environment. 
  • If none of the parent folders have been shared, the subfolder can be shared with any set of users and this subfolder will be displayed as a top-level container for the collaborator.

Note:

  • Folder re-sharing is available only for folders shared with co-owner permissions. If you share the folder with someone with Modify or View permissions, they will not be able to share it with someone else.
  • If you share two top-level folders and make one of them a subfolder of the other (move or drag and drop), the subfolder will have the same level of access as the parent folder does;
  • Internal Sharing is only available between users on one account. 
  • If you share the subfolder with lower permission level than the collaborator has for top-level folder, the subfolder will also appear as an additional top-level folder in SecuriSync environment and collaborator will have access to files in this folder with lower permission level as well.
  • Rename does NOT break sharing permissions for the folder.
  • Permissions stay intact if a folder is moved within the folders that belong to the same user. It is allowed to move files and folders between top-level folders (My SecuriSync, Desktop, Documents, Pictures, Videos, Music).
  • It it not possible to move a folder that belongs to one user into a folder that belongs to another user. If a folder is shared with a user, they cannot move it into a folder owned by them. In case such move is performed via the Desktop app, sharing permissions and versioning will not be preserved.

Go back to top

Group Sharing

SecuriSync end-users can now share folders with groups (Distribution Lists). Groups which have permissions are shown in Manage collaborators list in the SecuriSync Web App

Note: This feature is only available on Intermedia accounts which have Distribution Lists created.

Note: It may take up to 24 hours for a newly created Distribution List to show up in SecuriSync Address Book.

To share a folder with a group:

  1. Click Share next to the folder name
  2. Click the Address Book icon to find the Distribution List (or type the address if the Distribution List)
  3. Check the box next to the Distribution List name and click Select
  4. Click Share

ShareFolderWithGroups

Permission level evaluation:

  • If user is a member of multiple Distribution Lists and has no individual permission on the shared folder, the highest permission from the Distribution List(s) assigned to this folder is the final permission Example: User 1 is a member of the Group 1 and Group 2. Folder 1 is shared with Group 1 with View permissions and with Group 2 with Modify permissions. User 1 will have Modify permissions to Folder 1.
  • Individual permissions supersede any Distribution List permissions

Go back to top