Cross-organization sharing:

If a user shares a folder with another user in a different organization, a regular share will be established instead of sending a web link.

When cross-organizational share is established, an email notification is sent to the Admin of the inviters' organization.

SharingNotification

Regular share cannot be established if:

  1. Organizations are on different PODs (SecuriSync servers).
    Servers can be found in SecuriSync web:
    https://SecuriSync.intermedia.net/us2/
    https://SecuriSync.intermedia.net/us3/
  2. Sharing is not available between Direct and Partner platforms .

In two cases above App will suggest sharing by sending a weblink with the closest permission.

SrS Negative sharing

There are two types of external users in SecuriSync, depending on the way they have been added for folder sharing:

 Adding users to the account via HostPilot

In order to set up a collaborative folder share, Admin needs to create a new SecuriSync user in HostPilot. User’s own email address should be entered in the Email Address (login) field to ensure that all email-based notifications generated by SecuriSync are delivered to the end-user. The email address may be hosted by any 3rd party company.
cpanel

Once the user is created, they will have full access to all desktop, mobile and web apps features of SecuriSync.

 SecuriSync users can invite external collaborators with/without administrator's approval

To allow users external sharing without admin approval:

  1. Make sure External Sharing is enabled on the Services > SecuriSync > Policies > Sharing policy page:
    ShareSync Sharing policy page
  2. On the Services > SecuriSync > Users page, check the Pre-approve External Collaborative Sharing box:
    ShareSync Users page

To restrict users from external sharing:

  1. Make sure External Sharing is not enabled on the Services > SecuriSync > Policies > Sharing policy page:
    ShareSync Sharing policy page
  2. On the Services > SecuriSync > Users page, uncheck the Pre-approve External Collaborative Sharing box:
    ShareSync Users page

If you choose to approve end-users' requests, you will do it the following way:

requests

This is how external collaborators appear in your user list in HostPilot:

userlist

Leaving Share

There are 3 ways to stop collaborating on shared file or folder:

  1. File or folder Owner selects Stop share or clicks on Cross next to collaborator's name. Appropriate events will appear in the event log on the account (unshared).
  2. Select Leave share in desktop client or web interface. This action results in an event written to SecuriSync event log on the account (stopped collaborating on).
  3. Delete a file or folder you collaborate on from your machine. When deleting, SecuriSync will ask you to confirm that you are leaving a share. This option silently removes a share without any entries seen in the event log on the account.

Comparing Regular users and External Collaborators

  Regular SecuriSync user External Collaborator
occupy SecuriSync disk space + +
can use all SecuriSync clients (desktop and mobile) + +
can create folders + +
can upload own files + +
can be granted with the following level of permissions to folder view, modify, co-owner view, modify
can have any domain name + +
can set permission-based sharing + -
can share via link + -
increase monthly charges for SecuriSync according to the billing plan + -
increase account total disk space according to the billing plan + -
can login in My Services + +
can restore password using Forgot password? on Unified Login Page + +
can restore trashed content trashed in personal folders + +
can restore trashed content trashed in shared folders + -
apply backup policies + Can synchronize only My SecuriSync folder

Conversion external users to regular users

In order to convert an external user to a regular SecuriSync user navigate to Services > SecuriSync > click on a user > Convert to Standard User. After a user is converted all of their data, including links and shares, will still be valid. User becomes chargeable (depending on account package) and account disk quota is extended accordingly.

Convert