This article overviews one of the SecuriSync backup policies - File Type Exclusions. Admin can exclude file types that are not suitable for real-time backup. The policy can be modified through HostPilot® Control Panel > Services > SecuriSync > Policies > Backup Policy > File type exclusions.
It is recommended to exclude large and frequently changed files. By default Exclude certain file types is selected:
Backing up QuickBooks and Sage files
QuickBooks and Sage files are flat-file databases which change frequently. Due to that, these file types are excluded by default. If you would like to
Backing up PST files
Usually, end-user mailboxes are being backed up by the email provider or the email provider offers the backup solutions. Since PST file is a type of a database file which is changed frequently, it is excluded from the real-time backup. This file type is excluded by default. Read SecuriSync®: PST Backup for more information.
If you would like to run an incremental backup of your PST files, we will recommend using Outlook Backup feature.
Important: the list of the excluded file types is available in the article SecuriSync Backup Policy: Default File type exclusions.
- If a file has no version on the server, a user can click Save to
SecuriSyncbutton. If a user clicks on this button, a file will be saved locally.
- If a file has a version on the server, it will save user's file locally.
Userwill be able to preview previous versions from the server without any errors.
- If Admin sets policy for .notes, .numbers, .app and other MAC extensions, which are recognized as a folder, the policy would not be applied.
- Files with restricted extensions, which have been uploaded to
SecuriSyncserver before the exception has been set up, will remain on the server and will be downloaded to a new desktop client. However, new versions of these files won't be synced with the server any longer. If a user deletes a folder that contains file excluded extension via a desktop application, the folder won't be deleted from the cloud. It needs to be deleted it from web access.