This articles describes several ways of backing up the mailbox in case the employee has left the company and mailbox is no longer requeired.
Outlook Backup allows customers to perform various operations with PST files. Typical operations include migrating mailboxes to Intermedia as well as backup and restore operations. In order to use Outlook Backup, customers must log in to HostPilot® Control Panel with account owner credentials or as a technical administrator with access to the Outlook Backup module.
Note: when a backup is created, the notification is being sent only to the account administrator. The end-user will not receive the notification.
- Go to HostPilot > Services > Outlook Backup > Create Backup
- Specify backup details:
Select backup type:
- Full backup
- Calendar/Contacts/Inbox/Sent Items/Tasks/Notes/Deleted Items
Add mailboxes to backup: select mailboxes that will be backed up
- Press Backup button.
Note: you can backup multiple mailboxes on the Create Backup page.
Read the Knowledge Base article Overview Of Outlook Backup for additional information.
When you archive folders, you are moving the items from their existing folder into an archive type of personal folder file (PST).
By default, Outlook saves archived items in the following location:
- For Microsoft Windows Vista/7/8, Outlook 2007/2010/2013/2016: \Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook\archive.pst
- For Microsoft Windows NT 4.0: \<windows>\Profiles\<username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook\archive.pst
You can change the file name (archive.pst) and location so your Outlook items are archived in another location of your choice.
The file archive.pst is just like any other file and you can add or remove it in your Outlook profile.
How to archive your folders manually
To immediately archive a folder, use the following steps for your version of Outlook.
For Outlook 2010/2013/2016:
Read the Knowledge Base article How Does Outlook Archiving Work? for additional information.
Once the data is backed up and the mailbox has been deleted, external users may be not aware of this and continue sending emails to the mailbox. In this case it is possible to create the distribution list with the email address of deleted mailbox and include managere of this employee to prevent any data loss.
Important: by design, both Exchange and POP/IMAP users are assigned an x500 Exchange address which is used for internal delivery by Exchange servers and is associated with an Active Directory object (not an email address). When you delete a user, their x500 address is deleted with the AD object, but it can remain associated with email addresses in Outlook and Webmail cache. Because of that, internal users may receive the #550 5.1.1 RESOLVER.ADR.ExRecipNotFound non-delivery report after sending messages to recreated email address, to resolve the issue try the following solutions:
- Remove the email address from the To field and type it manually when replying to an email.
- Delete the cached entry in your Outlook and re-create it for a new user. Read the Knowledge Base article on How To Reset The Outlook Nickname Autocompletion Cache for more information.
- Contact Support and provide them with the full text of the bounce back message to add an old x500 address to a new user AD object.
Note: if no bounce back is available, Support can obtain the x500 address from the Event Log. However, full bounce back message is needed to compare the addresses.